Bunking down

Standard

Bunking Down

It snowed for the first time this year. We have been telling Chantel that the kitchen set will come out of storage when the snow comes. So first thing this morning she was asking for her kitchen set. Winter it is the season we don’t see our neighbors and huddle indoors getting close to our families while drinking hot chocolate. Well, that is the post card idea of the season. In reality it brings me clutter of wet coats boots, runny noses, wet socks and how am I going to fit the Crazy kitchen set in the 50 sq foot living room! Where am I going to put all the winter clothes and all the boots? Sounds failure? So what do I do? I look for things to recycle. Hold down the fort! If you don’t use it you lose it!! Jason is more than glad to be responsible for the garbage so he can retrieve his treasures. I am proud to say that I have collected another two garbage bags of things to share.

The day did have its hallmark moment after a walk around the block weighed down by boots and snowsuits. We came indoors for snowman soup!! Chantel was not happy about having soup for night lunch until she realized there were no carrots in it!

              Snowman Soup

When the weather outside is frightful,
Snowman Soup can be delightful.
May it warm your spirit and your soul.
Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

When you feel a chill or ‘brrrrrr’,
Use the peppermint stick to stir.
Add hot water and sip it slow.
Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

 

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

  1. I know exactly what you mean = I also dread the craziness of winter boots and clothes soggy and wet and laying all over my house! I especially dread the constant “Mom, where are my gloves – I can only find one of them!” I try to keep my attitude bright and cheery, because I really do love winter. Really.

    Like

  2. Karen-

    I am enjoying your blog on a snowy morning here in New England. I can identify with the urge to recycle; our last apartment was small and had no place to put all the snow gear andso the unnecessary items found a new home! Even with a larger home, I do not want to become collectors of “stuff we might use someday.” I get resistance from Dwayn, though. Like Jason, he has treasures I recognize only as clutter.

    How do you make snowman soup?

    Brianna

    Like

Leave a Reply

