The Christmas Tree is Green

Standard

img_3298_1_1.jpg

That’s right –  it’s official – the real Christmas tree is the green way to go again. Artificial trees are said to require too much energy and plastic to make and ship from China, creating too much emissions  and too much waste when it is disposed (non-biodegradable). The real tree is helping with air quality, provides habitat whilel growing, disposed trees fertilize the land and are ofter chipped to provide mulch, and in Hamilton’s case creates a fence to keep the carp out the creek.  One biology professor even suggested it keeps tree farmers  in business so they don’t sell their land to housing developers or for commercial property. So we can fill our homes once again with the pungent smell of pine without shame. 

And our Christmas tree is up. It is our second tree in four years and I am thrilled.  However,  it seems that the Christmas tree creates conflict. This year was no different and I laugh, now a week latter, because I still expect the hallmark picture of setting up the tree despite my real memories. I wondered this morning about the phenomenon. And decided that Hallmarks picture could ruined my Christmas. It has set me up for specific expectations like the beautiful turkey, opening presents under the tree with bright smiles and hot Chocolate as we bask in privilege and gratitude of being  with family.  Instead it is playing referee between two toddlers, hot Chocolate long cold from interruptions and the huge mess in the kitchen.  I see myself in the kitchen covered in turkey juice, hollering over my shoulder for help as both the kids take up residence at my ankles, making horrific screeching sounds for scraps of food. It is just at this moment that the phone rings and I scramble to grab it before the last ring to hear from sibbling  five provinces over. Yes, this is the Christmas that I know and love. I have to remind myself from time to time what the reality of too much candy, coffee, and toy’s can do or I am left with wishing that my day looked different and don’t enjoy living the day that I have. That is one of my definitions of a bad day. So as I  prepare this week for Christmas I will be reminding myself that I can plan, bake, cook and wrap this week but it is my additude that will make or break christmas for myself and my family.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

