My Dental Stories

Standard

What does it mean when you get excited to go to the dentist because it is an outing without the kids?  I have had two appointments this week, enjoying the magazines for close to an hour at each appointment. Granted I had to read quickly because I could be called in at any point but very relaxing to be sure. Then an hour laying in the chair, I could have fallen asleep if it has not been for the the road to Damascus light shining into my eye’s. I laid there chuckling to myself because I realize that this is the only situation that I can’t  get a  word in edge wise! It also reminded me how I loved being a chair side assistant ( that means I did not have my dental assistant certificate) and a few stories that I have during that career.

dental-receptionist_3_1.jpg

dental-assistant_1_1.jpg

 I worked for a very smart dentist. I am sure he flew through school and did not have to struggle with learning. I on the other hand take time to learning a new skill. He and the  ceritified assistant trained me on the job so I had no schooling at all. There is a lot to learn in a dental office and many, many small details to remember. It was easy to get confused and to make  matters worse the dentist would become impatient.

At the end of a long day the dentist and I did a root canal for a patient. I was determined to do everything right. During the  root canal I was  required to light the cigerette lighter in one hand and hold the suction in the other. I have had very little practice with the lighter and have always struggled with using it. This time it would be different. I flicked the lighter and was relieved to see the flame, I was on a roll. But the Dr. took longer than expected and I could feel the heat on my thumb, still I would not move positions to readjust, surely he would have his instrument hot enough soon. Then to my horror my glove caught on fire! I just looked at it, no way was it going to get bawled out today. The dentist quickly put the fire out and started to laugh.  It was not a flawless procedure after all. We both had a story to tell that day, along with the day I hit him in the head with the over head light and nearly called “Jesus” in for his appointment instead of Jesus pronounced Hasus.   It was a career cut short because I came to Ontario to get to know my boyfriend  better who is now my husband.  Other wise I would have gone to school an become a cetified dental assistant. I applied to the program before I moved as my back up plan if Jason didn’t work out!

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

