This will sizzle and pop your buds!

Standard

Take a good, close look because……

img_2600_1_1.jpg

This tangy, refreshing, crunchy, lemon dish will not last long whether you are alone in the house or you are serving a few people. This is a great dish for any time of the year except the fall because Autumn is reserved for apple dishes. So with no further a-do, I present to you, Crunchy Lemon Pudding. Let me know what you think.

Base   1/2 cup Margarine, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup coconut,       1/2 cup flour. 1 cup corn flakes. Cream the margarine and Sugar then add in order the remaining ingredients. press into a casserole dish mine is 12”x10″ use what you have. Press the base into your pan but leave out at lease a cup for the top (my mom doubles the base so she can have a lot for her crunchy topping and while I mentioned my mom please don’t bring this dish to any church pot luck that my mom will be attending as she has dibs on it) 

O.k Filling  1. cup of Sugar. 2 eggs, 1 Tablespoon margarine,       2 1/2 cups of milk, 5 tablespoons cornstarch, dash of salt,    1 teaspoon lemon rind, 1/2 cup squeezed lemon juice,               1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  combine 1/2 cup milk with 5 Tablespoons of corn starch

In a pot heat the 2 cups milk, 1 cup of sugar,salt when hot add the cornstarch mixture and stir until thickened,  cook for 2-3 min on low then take some of this mixture out stir to cool a bit add 2  beaten eggs add back into the hot milk slowly, then add the lemon juice ( it is apparently common knowledge that this is the method of adding eggs to hot liquids but the first time I made this we were pulling long stringy pieces of cooked egg from our dessert and mouth! Definitely slowed the eating process down! cook another 2-3 min then remove from heat, stir in the butter, lemon rind and vanilla extract, pour over your base then crumble the set aside base over the top. Bake at 350 F  for 25 min until golden brown. It is best eaten warm and it is good with or without  vanilla ice cream.     

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

