Oh My, I did it this time!

Standard

 Start the year off with these! If this is any indication of how 2008 is going to be, I know I will be eating well.   These are  amazing! They are crispy, tangy, sweet morsels of pure happiness. Those who taste your delighful New Year treats will be sure to be in your good graces the whole year. Of course they could be made at anytime of the year but it is a Dutch tradition to have oliebollen at New years.  I, however, have livened up the recipe to come up with this: Cranberry-Orange Oliebollen.  

 img_3396_1_1_1.jpg

Do you want to know how I did it? (of course you do)In a bowl combine 3 cups of flour,1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, 4 tsp baking powder, 1 cup of sugar and zest from one orange.

 Peel and grate one large apple.

img_3388_1_1.jpg

Then add 1 1/2 cups, of chopped cranberries.

img_3391_2_1.jpg

Mix together in another bowl one beaten egg, juice from the orange plus 2/3 cup of orange juice. (Oh ya, have extra orange juice handy to add if it looks too dry – the batter should be moist and thick like muffin batter.) 

Then drop the batter into hot oil using a deep fryer, like this. While you wait, make your pot of coffee and notify your friends they will be leaving this stratosphere.

img_3392_1_2_1.jpg

 When they are golden brown, pull up the basket, let excess oil drip off, and dump into a large bowl with  lots of icing sugar at the bottom. Roll them around and let them get coated really well. hmm, my knees are beginning to shake.

img_3393_1_1_1.jpg

Sit at the table with your coffee and a basket of your treats, I assure you one will not be enough. I promise.  Is this not happiness? I asked My daughter what she thought they should be named, she said,” Candy”…   This is the way to keep friends!

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

3 responses »

  1. My husband is Dutch and I’ve never even made these Karen! We just usually go to his Uncle’s house for them. These sound much better!

    Like

  2. Absolutely Amazing!! I could have eaten the whole plate full. Dustin loved them too, (he’s lucky they made the trip home!) and has asked me to make more!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

