What’s up on the bottom.

Standard

 I am talking about diapering, cloth diapering. When I was still pregnant with my Sunshine I received crazy looks from anyone who heard I was planning to use cloth diapers. Some would congratulate me, others would smirk, “let me know how it goes”. Their comments made me more determined to be successful. So I set out to find my diapers. And wouldn’t you know it, I found them under the table one Saturday morning at a garage sale, brand new and half price; Kushies.

Kushies, they were not my first pick, I would choose Mother-ease if given a choice, but my garage sale find worked with my student loan budget so I grabbed them and ran. These, and a few hand-me-downs from friends, provided me with a good supply and I was on my way to full time cloth diapering.

            I waited three months before beginning the cloth adventure. With my great intentions, pride and idyllic motherly homemaking attitude I placed the diaper on my child. I Looked at her large bottom and held my breath. Hmm, despite the bulk it looked…. well… “Do you think it will hold the mess? Look at those gaps at her legs?” I mused to my husband.  If it didn’t, that would to be some mess. Sure enough, there was an explosion. The yellow mess was everywhere, staining everything it touched. I spent too much time scrubbing, bleaching, and soaking the diaper to get it white again, along with all her clothes and mine. This was what those ladies were talking about. I was deflated.

Since that day I’ve learned a few things about cloth diapering. I was introduced to diaper wraps amazing inventions that come with snaps or Velcro (snaps will not snag in the wash) I also learned of the power of sunshine that will bleach your yellow stains to white. I learned that bleach and the drier will break the elastic in the diaper. And I learned what a great husband I have because if I did not have his help I would have given up a long time ago. He does most of the work involved with cloth diapering and makes it easy for me to choose my cloth diapers rather than the disposable ones.

Here is what we do with our diapers.

I have made liners out of white fleece to use as a barrier between the  wet diaper and the baby bottom. I do this mainly b/c it makes cleaning up the soiled diaper much easier than dipping and scrubbing the entire diaper in the toilet. I strongly recommend liners.

We hang dry the diapers. If my diapers were not made with Velcro I would probably indulge in using the drier once in a while but the Velcro never keeps to itself and the heat deteriorates the water proof shell. Also did I tell you my husband does the hangs them?  He is an environmentalist. I mean that is what he is taking at school, environmental toxicology undergrad and Biology masters.

We rinse the dirty diapers in cold water then wash with hot water and a bit of liquid detergent.

We use disposable diapers at night because they absorb more, no night time diapers, or bed changes means more sleep for us.

Do you use cloth diapers? What type and do you like them? How do you care for your diapers?

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

  1. I wish I used them. I’ve been thinking about starting. My stepmom used to use little plastic overpants with them. She was eventually converted to the gospel of disposables. I’m still wavering in the faith every time I buy diapers. Thanks for the informative post.

    Found you on Pioneer Woman comments.

    Like

  2. I just order the trial one from mother-ease thanks to you and the conversation we had last night. Out of all the mom’s I know you are the only ones I know that say that they cloth diaper. Maybe it is something that is happening in secret??? I’ll let you know what I think. I hope that my hubby is equally as welcoming to the new idea and the extra loads of laundry:D

    Like

Leave a Reply

