I can’t do it… I’ts true, and a give away

Standard

 I have been asked by every church I attend to teach Sunday school. As much as I appreciate the compliment or (and more likely) their desperation to find someone to care for their children, I am not cut out for a Sunday school teacher.  Entertaining 10 two and three year old children, breaking up fights, comforting the inconsolable child or worse three children who only wants his mothers.  No, I can see myself stifling my own tears for their mothers while   my nerves begin pulling apart as the noise builds and chaos tears away the small amount of sanity I have left, after caring for my own two tyrants all week. But I said, “yes”. I said, “yes”. Why in the world did I say, “yes”? I must have been having a good day or again ( and more likely) I was so  far gone that my dilusional mind said yes? Whatever happened I said, “yes”. What am I going to do? I have been asking myself for three months now, Switch churches? I might have but my kids, they really like Sunday school, I really like sending them toSunday school. Oh, I should teach Sunday school.   “What am I going to do?”

It finally dawned on me.

So I e-mailed that I could not do it.

             “I have been thinking about my involvement in Sunday school for a long time
now. And every time I think about it I break out in cold sweats. This is the thing, for as long as I can remember I have been told I should work with children, “be a day care worker,” my guidance counselor said, “teach Sunday School” my husband says and every church I go to asks. The thing is I am not gifted in child care; taking charge of large groups of kids is my idea of torture. I know that it is not alway’s about what we are gifted with but I promise you I am not the right person for the job. I am a good mom, learning to be a better mom everyday, and a decent wife; I am not a Sunday school teacher as much as I would love to be.
I can not even fill out the application well.  One of the questions is, “why
do you want to be involved in the children’s ministry?” …Guilt. That is
the only answer I can come up with.  I have tried to come up with a better reason and remain honest but I can’t. I could probably suffer through one Sunday a month except that I am suffering through 8  more grueling months of living with a masters student; who by the way, has had two day’s off  since the middle of November. He couldn’t even take Christmas off and worked 3 hours that day.
……. I am sorry, I can’t do Sunday school. I will help out on Sunday as
planned but please take me off the schedule after that,

Thank-You.”

Why do I feel so awful? “Why do I have to be so dramatic?   Oh, that was an awful e-mail mabey I should switch churches so I don’t have to face her again.  What is worse; quiting, my e-mail or just sucking up and doing Sunday School? ” Blah, I thought I was supposed to feel relieved. Have you ever said, “yes” before thinking it through or changed your mind after committing to something? What did you do?

 This just in..For those stayed with me through my conscience rammblings. I just recieved in the mail the goods to my first give away. I  will post the details tomorrow b/c I don’t have my camara this afternoon. My scholar has it take  pictures of his four eyed fish he found in a  batch he is studying. So check back you don’t want to miss this.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, your ramblings are very encouraging to me! I have been asked to teach Sunday School at only one church, and I did it. It would have been a disaster, but the kids were 6 months to two years, so we always had two teachers. I could have been reading my own thoughts – even though I was a nanny to six kids, Sunday School is very intimidating to me. Thanks for your fun Blog posts!

    Like

  2. Give away? I want in on that! Just kidding… your friendship is enough of a give away. You should feel no guilt. I was just thinking of telling my church to take me off the list too. I can’t keep that schedule straight with my work schedule and I feel like I’m always doubled up and then it deters Josh from going to church if I’m helping in a class…. We have to do what’s right for us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

