Use it or loose it

Standard

It can be so difficult to get rid of the silliest things. I can be so sentimental. In recently years I have been attempting to keep things simper and more manageable.  Consequently, I have had to get rid of some special trinkets that have been kept around for a very long time.  I could very easily become a hoarder, you know.  There are two things in my home that I love very dearly, my tea pot and a flower vase, both are wedding gifts. A few times, my husband has greeted me at the door with, “Karen, I am sorry, something broke”. My first reply is, “is it my tea pot, vase?”.   “No? Then it doesn’t matter” But what am I going to do when the tea pot or the vase is broken? I have two girls who drink tea like a little granny’s. One day I know it will break and I braced myself for that moment. Until now, it dawned on me. (I know I am slow to figure things out) There are many beautiful tea pots and vases in the stores, some even more beautiful than mine, if mine was to break I could choose a different one to enjoy for a while this way i get to enjoy more beautiful trinkets, but one at a time…. So I am free of my favorite things, but what about my sentimental things? 

img_3530_2_1.jpgimg_3533_3_1.jpg

  These two mugs have been hanging around for a while the, “Big Hug Mug” has been moved across the country twice! It came from my dad. He gave it to me during a time in my life I felt most alone and protective of myself. It was not a birthday or anything he just came home one day, gave it to me and said, “I love you”. I have kept it for that reason. The other mug,” #1 Mommy” was given to me after Sunshine was born. I held that mug for dear life the first year of her life, as I struggled with my insecurities and hormones, (gotta love those chemicals). But those moments are over too they are memories in my mind, not realities for today. I don’t need my dad’s mug to remind me I am loved and I don’t need my mommy mug to convince me I am a good mom. So I am free, well of these things, I am sure I will find more stuff to get rid of and to be honest I look forward to finding it.  What are some things that you have kept for a long time and had a hard time giving it up? Did you give it away? What convinced you to give it away? I would love to hear about it so when I come across a treasure I might be convinced by your logic before storing  it for another 10 years! My time does fly.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

4 responses »

  1. I love to hang on to little sentemental things as well. But I’m finally getting to that stage in life where some of it just has to go. It’s sad to make those decisions but fun to remember why they meant so much in the first place.

    Like

  2. Ohhhhh I can so relate. My husband is the trash it king so he is very good for me or I would save everything.
    One way I was able to get rid of some older stuff, was I read an article on Feng shui. The article refered to how we hold on to things that remind us of bad times. WOW I am a bit embarrassed to admit, I got rid of a lot of stuff after that
    Right now I have a beautiful, beautiful teapot that my mom bought for my birthday a few years ago, with a matching cream jug and sugar bowl. They are so nice I love them……..except……….one day I dropped a mug and it broke and chipped all three things 😦
    I still have them, can still use the sugar bowl as it was just the lid……..except……….every time I look at them, instead of admiring their beauty, I feel incredibly guilty, and embarrassed, that I couldn’t take better care of these beautiful things.
    I guess it may be time for me to let them go, and who knows…….forgive myself.
    anna

    Like

  3. I too am a pack rat and could hold on to many many things for no particular reason other than a simple memory. I had boxes of stuff that I packed as a teenager moving with my parents to Florida. I did not unpack them there. I then moved back to Canada into my Grandparents house and did not unpack them there either. I moved back with my parents when they moved back from Florida three years later and they went straight to the storage room. A year later I was getting married and moving into a house with my husband. They went straight to the attic there! Somewhere in the first four years of being married I decided whatever was in these boxes couldn’t be that important as I have not looked at them in years! I know cherish all my memories in photos and scrapbooking!! They take up a lot less room than boxes of “junk”. And you can take a picture of anything you would like to remember and put a story about it in the scrapbook!

    Like

  4. My husband and I have unpacked boxes from when he moved up here. Never opened. Do you think we need them? No. But while I’d like to point the finger at HIS stuff, I have so much stuff too. I’m determined to pitch stuff and give things away this year. I’d so love to live in a simple, decluttered home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

