My felted bag and a squash

Standard

  I just completed my second felt bag. I am pleased enough with the result that I will post the method if you want to have a hand at your own bag. It took me a very long time to knit this up. I wondered more than once if it was going to turn out nice and prepared myself for disappointment. But every time I glance at it my heart leaps with joy and excitement, so it is was a success. I am so thrilled, in fact, that I have started another one. (Of course I will show you that when it is finished too).img_3619_1_1.jpg

I have never followed a pattern so I don’t know the lingo for telling you what I did. This may either confuse you or, if you are a beginner knitter like I am, it might be helpful. I am more than willing to be corrected by any talented-know-how-knitters who happen to view this post.  A felted bag that I bought a few years back is where I came up with the pattern. I do suggest counting the rows as you make the first section but I kept losing track and did not know if I could see the different rows so my ruler was my guide.

 img_3609_1_1.jpg

See how big and floppy it looks?

I used 10mm needles and Bernat 100% wool. It said on the label it was good for felting.

With thirty stitches on the needle I knit and purled until it was 10.5 inches long. This piece was 8.5 inches wide by 10.5 long.

The second section was exactly the same except that I decreased one stitch at the beginning and the end of each row to make the flap.

Then I made a third section it was 10 stitches 10.5 inches long then I increased a stitch at the beginning and the end of each row for three rows. You should have 16 stitches now. This wider section is the width of the bag so 8.5 inches then decrease the number of stitches for three rows. Then just knit, purl the 10 stitches until it is 10.5 inches.

The strap was done on circular needles that have no measurement on them (why did they not mark them?) It was7 feet long with five stitches (you will want to shorten the strap if you don’t want to tie a loop), the strap was not fun. I wanted to do it with sock needles but I don’t have those in my collection. I am certain that if I did have those double pointed needles it would have been much more fun and quick. I knit 5 stitches then slide the section down to the other end of the needles and knit another row. If this does not make sense then ask a friend what I am talking about (I found the instruction in children’s knitting book from the library) It really works though because the yarn is pulled from the back of the knitting into the front of the next row. It makes the strap tubular not flat.

Stitch it together, and then felt it in the washing machine. Put the bag in a pillow case tie a loose knot (the knot tightens in the wash to make it loose) wash with a few towels, there’s always towels to wash, on hot water on the lowest water level setting (No need to waste hot water and electricity now do we?)  Add a little bit of liquid detergent. Pull it out before it spins or sides of the bag will stick together.

Rinse by hand in cold water. Adjust any sections that felted too much by pulling. I then let it dry on my butternut squash. (I sliced the top to make it stand up and let it dry over night.

img_3610_2_1.jpg

So there you have it a really cool hand bag and a butternut squash to make a yummy soup. Invite your friend for soup and to see your bag. 

img_3619_1_1.jpg

So what do you think? Do you like it?  I crave your praise.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

  1. I haven’t tried it myself yet, but why not use a knitted wool sweater (save time) & if you’re not a knitter, you can still felt. Haven’t we all shrunk a wool sweater by accidentally washing it – now it just won’t be by accident!

    Like

Leave a Reply

