Monday,it’s back to work that means; lunches.

Standard

  One of my worst chores to do is to pack Jason’s lunch. It’s the repetition, the time of day; evening when I want to relax with my own projects, and rummaging through the fridge trying to find the cheese, meat and mayo which has been  pushed to the back corner. It is boring, boring, boring and I’m a complainer.

I was 28 when I finally met my match. I spent many years listening to my younger sisters complaining about the boring chores they did for their husbands. The first wedding was for my second sister  and I thought,” Me next, isn’t that the way it goes oldest to youngest she was the second oldest and that it’s O.K but, I’m next”. Then the third sister was married, ” O.k that’s two now, surly I will be next” then the fourth sister,” This is getting frigging irritating, me next! Me! Me! Me!” still there was no one in sight; I started looking beyond the Canadian border.  Then the fifth sister was married. But this time I knew I was next.   There was a 50-50 chance between me and the youngest sister, and the odds where in my favor, I had met someone.  So I listened to my sisters tell of their hum-drum lives.  Oh, their terrible woes, laundry, dirty floors, what to make for supper, and lunches I heard it all and caring for children too. I tried to be supportive but I could only think, “What are you complaining about? You found your hunka-hunka at 17, 18, 20, and 17. I wish I could have your life. So I imagined how I would love to do the mundane chores of the house wife. Especially lunches, because I would miss him all day while he was working. I would make his lunch with love, tenderness, creativity, and pray blessings over his meal. I would be a better wife than all my sisters, “That’s right” I thought, “I  waited the longest so I will be the best prize” The best pickle in the pantry so to speak.

 Then I got married. And here I am whipping the mayo, tossing the cheese, lettuce and meat between the two slices of bread. Calling is a meal. And I’m complaining about lunches with the rest of them. But, I have come up with a way to make lunches easier. Less time on lunches more time for my projects.

Everything is in this basket. No more searching no more emptying the fridge out to find the mayo!

img_3646_1_1.jpg

But that is not all.

img_3647_2_1.jpg

I slice the cheese and store the slices in this small container. Sometimes the cheese will stick to the bottom of the container so I put a small piece of plastic wrap on the bottom before the cheese slices.  Now I am not slicing cheese everyday but I have it at my finger tips. Works like a charm, now I just have to adjust my attitude!

Do  you think that this is somthing that will work for you? What are some way’s that you make packing lunches easier or more exciting?

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

