The trip that still haunts me, part 2

Standard

  To catch up on this story go here.

(“It was 5:40pm. The air port was congested, “Oh, dear God, please get us a parking space at the entrance!” We both prayed. “Dad, there’s a spot” but wait, “this can’t be happening” I thought, someone was vying for the same spot!  My mind flashed to all the movies I watched with this same scene. I needed the space desperately; I had to have this space!”)  

I released the seat belt from my growing baby belly, and left the car  hollering back to dad,” We WILL get that spot just you watch”, “It’s o.k, Karen” he said. As luck would have it there was a luggage cart a few feet away I grabbed it and ran to the center of the parking spot. Then I stood there trying to look nonchalant while the other car clearly noticed that the space was taken. “Sorry”, I thought a little sheepishly, “I really need this”. We got it!! Now to the ticket counter, my heart was beating fast with adrenalin. I buckled Sunshine into my stroller, grabbed the bags while dad unbuckled the car seat. We were off running, but the stupid wheels on the umbrella stroller kept jamming up because it is the WORST stroller on earth. I had no choice but to tip Sunshine backward as we ran the short distance to the terminal. Once inside we realized we didn’t know what direction we should be heading. Dad went on ahead while I looked for some one to get directions. “Crap”, we had to take an elevator Dad was quit away down the hall. I literally yelled at the top of my voice, “DAD…DAD” (he’s hard of hearing but he would never believe you), “We have to go upstairs!”  We made nervous chatter with the other patrons of the elevator who let us exit first when we told them our story.

Finally, I could see, “WEST JET”, there was no one waiting in line, not a soul. “This can not be good” I thought. We slowed our breathing as we headed to the counter, I had 20 min to get our boarding pass, go through security WITH a toddler, and hike down the terminal to the gate BY MYSELF. The ticket-counter-lady, (What is their title?) was not in any hurry when she asked the routine questions. Then she said, “Are you aware that the flight has been delayed by two hours?” “Are you serious? You’re serious! We made it!” Adrenalin and relief catching up with us as we both wiped away a tear of relief. (I wiped more than a tear but who’s counting) The ticket-counter-lady noticed our relief and suggested that dad take a pass to help me get to the departure gate.

 All was well, we enjoyed an airport dinner, dad entertained Sunshine with his made up games while I prepared for the last part of the trip. Sunshine has slept a lot during the afternoon while dad and I toured the industrial section of the Big City. I had her fed, changed, and in her night cloths for the flight home. It was my dream; as it is with every mother flying with a child, that she would sleep. I also had a little special potion in my bag to help this dream become a reality. Do I or don’t I?  Do I or Don’t I? The day has been a challenging enough, but will she sleep without it?  What if she doesn’t?  I did, I gave her the potion. Did the potion work as planned?

                          ………………….(To be continued)………………

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

3 responses »

  1. Wow, I can’t wait for another “chapter”!

    As I read the first section, I thought how I sometimes fudge the time frame as well – if I know someone often runs late, I will give them an earlier time than is really necessary. Here’s the potential problem. If I say 2 pm but it’s really 2:30, what if we are late and the person thinks we’re too late and quits hurrying? It’s never happened to me, but I have thought about that as a possibility.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Flying with children « Karyn for you

  3. Pingback: The trip that still haunts me- the last part « Karyn for you

Leave a Reply

