Hmm, Hmm good and so homemade!

Standard

My mom says: “You were born in the wrong era”, and my dad says, “Jason has it made, it doesn’t take much to make you happy”. My sister says, ” you must be pregnant, that’s the only reasonable, reason you are doing these things” I say,” I’m not pregnant and it’s fun to make make things myself”. This was my breakfast this morning, homemade yogurt, home made granola and my own dried apple chips.

img_3649_1_1.jpg

It’s very homey, satisfying and tasty eating so homemade. Yogurt is simple to make with a incubator, and granola simple and it makes the house smell so-so good. Wanna try it this is all you have to do.

This granola is called,”His Mansion Granola” because that is where the recipe came from. We ate this every Friday for breakfast.

In a sauce pan combine: 2/3 c. peanut butter, 1/3 c. oil ( the recipe actually says 2/3 c. oil and no water but… recipes are a guideline, right?) … So 1/3 c. water, 3 tablespoons each; honey, molasses,  and syrup. Got that? O.k lets keep going, 2 teaspoons vanilla and 2 teaspoons cinnamon. Warm this all up so it is melted together, then add 5 cups of dry oats. Spread onto a baking sheet and toast in oven at 300 F, until golden brown, (careful once it starts to toast it goes fast and burnt granola is…. well, it’s gross, but don’t tell my girls I said that).  Let it cool, add whatever goodies you might want ie: peanuts, raisins, coconut, chocolate chips ( hey, why not? it’s still better than Coco Puffs and besides we cut down on the oil remember?) and store in a sealed container. Enjoy on ice cream, yogurt, or with milk.   So the question is, Do you agree with my mom, dad, sister or do you have another explanation for why I do the things I do?

 (Note this post has been linked to Saturday Stirrings – With Friends – Visit her sight for some more fabulous recipes)

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

3 responses »

  1. i am also eating my own homemade granola-i made half with some blueberries and the other with candied ginger and lots of nutss. yum,my!! but i havent got back into the yoghurt making-but-you inspire me!!!

    Like

  2. In case anyone is tempted by homemade yogurt but does not have an incubator – I make mine in quart jars in a rice cooker. There are so many ways to incubate yogurt; the important thing is to find a way to keep your yogurt between 90 and 120 degrees (F, not celsius, sorry to non US readers) for 4-12 hours.
    Karen, I agree with you about homemade food! I read ingredients on packaged food, and that’s usually enough to keep me from purchasing the item!

    Like

Leave a Reply

