Family Fun

Standard

  I wanted to write about this yesterday but I spent a long week stuck within my daughters walking distance because the stroller couldn’t pass over snow banks and the sled wouldn’t glide over most of the side walks. So I didn’t have a good story to write about. However; today daddy took us into the wood’s to play, “Teddy bears picnic” kept playing through my mind the whole time we hiked.How beautiful and grand the Bruce trail is.

We hear the noise of traffic all day from our home so the sound of the river at the bottom of the ravine, and sight of clean white snow was a cure to my cabin-fever-battered -heart. I loved hearing Sunshine laugh with delight when daddy said she could eat the snow. To see hubby and I maneuver the sled with our two girls down the snow covered stairs, around the tight bends and along the, “goat trail” 20 feet above a quick river! (That’s what I wanted to have the camera for, to show you how steep the banks were, what happens when the sled tips over and scratches my little girl’s tiny nose). But I didn’t have my camera! So you will have to believe me, and hopefully I will remember to add camera to the entourage of other things that I bring with me when I leave the house!

It is in these moments; playing with my children and husband, that make washing the floor, wiping the snot from noses, never having a clean t-shirt to wear worth all the effort. It is these family outings and the little voices that say, “Thank-you, mommy”, “I love your toon” and, “You forgive me?” That inspire me when the days are long, uneventful, the play dough had dried out, and the kids keep falling off the chairs.

I hope that you have a few moments of peace, quiet, fun, and creativity this weekend with your friends or family, so you to have a memory to hold on to during the week. Did you have a moment this week that made it worth while for you?

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

One response »

  1. We had a sick little one this week. The first stomach bug ever for any of our three kids – pretty amazing that we haven’t been through this already. I was grateful only the youngest was sick. Even with just one, the laundry piled up – my clothes, his clothes, sheets, blankets, changing several times each day, for two days.

    Yet we managed to enjoy a relaxing Saturday morning with reading, dancing and singing. And I thought, all the challenges of parenting are nothing compared with the joys. We’ll see if I can remember that the next time I get covered in yuck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

