Get yourself some flowers

Standard

 “Maybe you would like to get your self some flowers today.” It’s true lady’s he really said this I’m not making this up. He said to me yesterday as he was leaving the house, “Maybe you would like to go to the store with the girls and get yourself some flowers”. Ha, ha, ha, he’s so funny and predictable! He has said this every Valentine’s Day, and birthday since we have been married. But I haven’t always found this as funny as I did yesterday.

 One year he said on Valentine’s Day, “I will get you flowers next week and then I can get you more flowers for the same price”. We are living the student life after all. But he forgot the next week and the week after that and the week after that so, each week he forgot I bought myself a little something. It got to be Easter and he still hadn’t brought home any flowers and each week my disappointment was growing and growing. I hoped and waited each time he was late thinking, “Maybe he is late because he stopped to pick up some flowers or something”. But he didn’t.

Then one day, when it was the worst possible moment to have conversation; sunshine was upset, I couldn’t find her shoes, and we were late for an appointment, I blew up crying, “and you didn’t get me anything for Valentines day” boo, hoo, hoo.

He’s like, “What? That was months ago”.  
“I know, and I want you to know it cost you because, I’ve been buying extra stuff for myself every week since.” Sniff, Sniff

“Really?”

“Really!”

So we’ve been married 4 years now and I laugh because he is so predictable except that this year he bought me a toy chick-a-Dee. (I would have added a picture but the kids have lost it already) when you squeezed it, it chirps just like a real Chick-a-Dee. When we were dating he would whistle the song of a chick-a-Dee to call my attention.  He told me that the Chick-a -Dee  sang, “Here Sweetie, sweetie, sweetie”, he whistled soft and gentle and every time he whistled this song to me my heart warmed up with the glowing embers of love and belonging.  And he remembered this!   He was at the store and remembered Valentines’ day was coming and remembered that the Chick-a-Dee was a moment for us back when we were dating. So it’s o.k. that he didn’t have flowers today, because he brought back a fond memory of our young love. I feel more loved with this silly bird than I would with a large assortment of flowers.  I know I am loved and I know where I belong.

Love Karyn

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

