It’s Family Day- Thanks’ Conservatives

Standard

  Thanks to our Conservative government we are celebrating a new statutory holiday in Canada, but there’s a catch. It is not mandatory for employer’s to give it as a paid holiday. This means that some businesses may be open and others will be closed.  Ironically, government employee’s don’t get the holiday because their contracts they have 12 stat holiday’s for the year and they are already spoken for. So it is family day, François is at work and I am making bread and calling the neighbor’s  for crushed pineapples b/c the grocery store is closed.  Can you believe it of all the day’s to run out of pineapple the store is closed what is this world coming too?

I told Sunshine to put her clothes on 5 times for each article of clothing before we finally got out the door. Then my first clue that the grocery store was closed was the empty parking lot, (I’m a quick one, aren’t I?) However, there’s no way I was going home after the fiasco that I just went through to get out the door. So we headed over to Mc Donald’s with the children’s play land. Every time I go there, an elderly man is wandering around talking to the patrons. He is harmless, he is lonely, and he wants to be needed. I watched him this morning as he “helped” the staff by being quick to inform them of spilled coffee, open a display case and straighten the “caution wet floor” sign. He is hunched over with his head bent to his chest. He shuffles his feet as he walks, and he likes strollers. That’s really all I know about him. He tells me each time I meet him about the stroller he bought for his relative and how he noticed that mine seats two children. I see him walking towards me this morning, as I expected, and braced myself for the same conversation about strollers. I hope he will find another person who interests him and I will not be caught in another boring and uncomfortable conversation for long.  I actually wonder to myself, “should he be allowed to loiter here?”  I’m in luck today the stroller conversation is short but I quickly realize and groan that it is my children that have captured his attention.   I watch and quickly become fascinated because soon he is laughing and playing peek-a-boo with them; my girls hide in the tunnel of the play center and soon peek out when they come down the slide. He is delighted, he is accepted, he is wanted, and he is needed.  My children are disappointed when he puts his coat on and shuffles away.  And I realize again that my children have taught me about acceptance, being needed and love.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

One response »

Leave a Reply

