“Silly Girl”

Standard

A few weeks ago I made the most delicious bread and was compelled, as always, to share it. Do you do that too? Get giddy and excited about something that turns out well and have to share it others? Well, I was a woman on a mission when this bread came out form the oven smelling, tasting and looking good. So I got the girls dressed in their michelin winter costumes and marched down the street to my neighbors. I didn’t really know this woman very well, I only chatted with her when she passed by my house last summer but of course, being winter and all,  those impromptu chats don’t happen in this season and I couldn’t wait till spring to visit her again. Besides I needed to share my bread. So on we went, all three of us, barging into her house with the finesse of the motley crue. The girls pulling their boots off and screaming to have their coats removed. We were only going to drop off some bread honest; I am not in the habit of barging into peoples homes at supper time with my two rag-a-muffins,( in case you fear I may drop in at your house). So there we were visiting in my neighbor’s living room having pleasant conversation as my children planted big sloppy kisses on their beautiful daughter. (She really is cute I’m not just saying that because they might read this blog).If you have ever met me or you were to come to my home you would soon notice that I have a gift of talking and making conversation. There would seldom be a moment of quiet for any length of time. Sometimes I say things without thinking, like signing up for Sunday school or the time I decided to show my neighbor in the apartment above ours the lay out of my apartment including the small storage space we have in our basement. The next day she began filling every nuke and cranny of the shared space, thinking that I had extra space in my basement. Ya, that was a mistake. I will regret  that for the rest of my time in this apartment. Any way, it was in my neighbor’s living room that I came up with a great idea!! “Would you like to swim laps with me once a week?” I asked

 “actually, I think I would be interested in that” she answered.

 I didn’t think anything of it. Went home and on with my life of eating bon bon’s and watching Oprah. Then the phone rang, “Hi Karyn, have you looked up the schedule for the pool yat?” It was my neighbor of course.

 “Oh crap, she was serious! It was just conversation and an idea wasn’t it?” I thought to myself

“Oh, oh, Ya I was going to do that” I lied. Looking the schedule up in the book

“How about tomorrow? Does that work for you?”

“Sure does” she say’s

“Silly girl, silly, silly girl” that’s what I think every time I swim another lap. That’ll teach you to say things with out thinking!”

But in all honesty it is fun, except for, the panting, gasping and swallowing large amount of chlorinated water and being nearly naked that is. I like swimming, floating, moving and being free in the pool. It is me, alone, my thoughts, and my pace. And I made a new friend. Maybe I wasn’t so silly after all.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

