Sophisticated? not so much.

Standard

Two day’s after dad arrived I got a phone call from my friend Aunty Shell, as Sunshine calls her, she called for my help. I was delighted because this meant that my phone did work, I was wondering because it does’nt ring and second, needing my help meant an activity! So I said, “Sure my dad’s here he might be able to help too” thinking to myself, “pay back for all the times he volunteered my babysitting services to others growing up”. I thought her car hit the dust or she needed to move some furniture.

“Well, I have tickets to Blue Rodeo; do you know who they are? Knowing that I am not all knowing about these things.

“Ya, their Country, right?”

“Yes, well anyway, I need someone to go with me tonight can you come?

“Can I come? Are you serious? Yes, I can come!! An outing, what am I going to wear?”

So she picked me up latter in the afternoon. I left my kids with Opa and ran to the caras fast as I could. It took a few steps of shuffling lopped sided as I acclimated myself to walking without a child on my hip, a diaper bag or hollering over my shoulder for Sunshine to stay out of the snow. But I am proud to say that I found the rhythm and didn’t fall over.  

No negotiating arguments, fits of wailing, hauling children in and out of the car, and a meal to eat all to myself. Did I forget to mention that her friend gave us money to have a nice dinner when she heard we were getting the chance to get out without my kids!!  It’s true. We were not eating at Wendy’s we could go to  a nice place, Mr. Green Jeans.  We each ordered steak; it was the most expensive meal on the menu! Wow, that steak was so good! I can count on one hand the amount of times I have had steak. I was so far out of my element that the lady at the next table asked why we don’t get out much!!

In the bathrooms the paper towel had run out so the only option was a weak, tepid hand dryer, another lady had come to stand in line and being on my best behaviour I invited her to share the little air exchange that it offered to dry our hands. We Joked about all the way’s to dry your hands, toilet paper, waving in the air, and my personal favorite patting different places on my jeans avoiding a tattle tale dark hand print. She said, “Ya, I’m not going that route tonight” In which I replied, “Me neither, I can be saphisicated tonight without my kids”. She left the bathroom and I caught up with, Aunty Shell laughing my head off, “Saphisicated, Karen? You can’t even pronounce the word never mind fake, Sophisticated”

It was my first concert ever, well unless you count Larry Norman; does anyone know who he is? He’s the King of Christian rock, don’t you know, “Why should the devil have all the good music?” and  “Sipping whisky from a paper cup” tell me you know who he is? O.K, O.K, most people don’t know which I think is a shame.  This concert, Blue Rodeo, was my first real concert. They sang one song, two songs, three songs, and four; finally I leaned over and whispered to Aunty Shell, “Aren’t they going to introduce themselves?”  

“Karen, its Blue Rodeo, everyone knows who they are?”

“Oh, I just thought they would stop and say, ‘Hello, I’m Jim, I’m from ______ I’ve been in the band for ___’.  That’s what all the bible school groups did when they came to my church”.

So that was my outing with out kids, and I’ve got to tell you, remembering what its like to be unencumbered by children is just what I needed. Hmm, does anyone else need help, I’m free….. Let me check my schedule, oh who am I kidding I’m free any evening. I think I need more practice being sophisticated.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

Leave a Reply

