Show and tell, A Felted Bag

Standard

  This bag took me forever and ever, I knit up the two balls of yarn so many times I lost track. I decided for various reasons why I didn’t like it and ripped it out. The first time I used 10mm needles and I thought it was too wide so I ripped it out and made it more narrow. Then I decided that I wanted a sturdier bag so I ripped it out and used 7.5mm, and that made the knitting go so much slower!! Or maybe it seemed to take so much more time because there was nothing on TV as a consequence to the writers strike.(Oh, I am so happy to be reunited with my “friends” after the long hiatus from my favorite shows, pathetic, ah?)

img_3815_1_1.jpg

So my bag this is what I did.

I used two balls of Sean Sheep I found from Wall-Mart.

img_3642_1_1.jpg

I had 40 stitches on my needle

And I knit forever.

Then I washed it in hot water in a zippered pillow case (easier than tying a knot in a pillow case) for about 10 min.

Took it out and rinsed it under cold water and let it dry, whoola!!

Oh, ya after it was dry I pulled out my handy-dandy exactor knife (actually it was pretty dull but it works) and cut a few inches to make the handles.

The pattern in the bag is my next project from Montessori by Hand, clever lady! Check out her site for other patterns, I what them all but I will show some restraint with one or I might find  my internet disconnected.

 (This is my first attempt at following a pattern I am reading the instructions over and over again to get it straight in my mumbled-jumbled-mixed-up-mind)  

OK, it is nap time for me where I will be dreaming of fabric for my apron. I guess I’m going to have to clean off my sewing desk and get my sewing machine running.  Well, after a nap!!

Karyn

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

  1. Hey Karyn, I’ve just gotten around to reading blogs. Your bag is beautiful. Orange and it’s partners are my favorite colors. My friend, Deborah, has requested a bag like this for her birthday in July. Green is her love. She doesn’t knit at all and I am only capable of the basics (knit, purl). Did you use a pattern? This looks like just the right size. I may add some grommets to include an i-cord handle. I-cord would be a first for me but I’ll try anything once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

