Fruit Pudding

Standard

  This is not a new recipe; in fact if you were to look in your grandma’s cook books I’m sure you would find it there. This pudding is great for a variety of reasons not limited to its tangy flavor or its aesthetic appeal.I hear a narrative from, “Love comes softly” every time I put this dessert together. You know the mother goes to her pantry pulls out fluffy biscuits left over from breakfast to warm , while the bacon is sizzling on the skillet  served with a  dark brew of hot coffee and a lump of sugar. Then as the meal comes to a close she pulls out this pudding. They eat this pudding with thick cream as the hard work from the day melts from their memories and they look forward to a well earned nights sleep after, of course, they sing around the piano and darn socks.  

Well, my home making stops before darning socks but I do like this dessert and I feel real homey making it.

Rhubarb Pudding

Now, if you don’t like Rhubarb, don’t over look this because truth be told it is just as good with sour cherries, you now the pie cherries not the Bing ones and not canned. (I heard from a very reliable source that eating large amounts of cherries can cause birth control not to be effective. Have you ever heard that?) Maybe you want to try Cranberries, (you might want to add a little extra sugar I have not tried that yet) or Huckleberries if you are fortunate enough to access to those tasty morsels of goodness.

Put the kettle on to have one cup of boiling water ready at the end. While your add it you might as well make your self a cup’a tea.

3 cups of cut up Rhubarb or fruit in the bottom of your dish I used up the last of my huckleberries, and sour cherries.

img_3753_1_1.jpg

 Then mix together

1 cup of flour

Dash of salt

3 Table spoons of Margareen ( this is how our family pronounces margarine)

1 teaspoon of Baking Powder

¾ cup of sugar

Vanilla

img_3754_2_1.jpg

And then ½ cup of milk

This will be a thick batter drop it over the fruit and spread it out evenly as possible

Then in a small bowl mix

2 Tablespoons of corn starch and

1 cup of sugar

Sprinkle over the batter

img_3756_3_1.jpg

Your water will be boiled now so pour it over your batter and bake at 350 F until the batter is golden.

This is the exact recipe as I got it from my mom. It is very good but I think a bit too sweet, so I cut the sugar down a bit depending on my fruit and I use my eye to determine how much, if any boiling water to add if I am using fruit with more natural juices like cherries. make it as it is and then play with it, recipes are a guideline not the law!I serve this with ice cream.

img_3761_4_1.jpg

This is my stand by when I have dinner guests, Ha ha, ha, dinner guests, there are no fancy dinner parties going on here. Especially since the last time when Sunshine wouldn’t keep her finger out of her nose and kept trying  to put her chewed lettuce on our distinguished guests plate.  Hmm, wanna come over for my fruit pudding?

Head on over to Saturday’s Stirrings for more recipes.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

6 responses »

  1. Sounds like something my grandmother would make! I love, love, LOVE rhubarb! Grandma had her own big patch of it growing in the garden.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane, and thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

