It could only be made better.

Standard

I am in my new home with more projects than I could ever have imagined.  Everywhere I look there is something to do when I have the money and the time.

However, it is our home  and we are delighted to have our own space.

As with any new house there are always surprises. Our surprise was the electrical wiring.

Then just after Jason started working on that project our basement was wet with three inches of water during a crazy rain storm our community was hit with one afternoon. 

The cities storm sewers could not handle the volume of water and backed up into the house. We were one of the more fortunate ones because our neighbours were under 3 feet of water!!

Still, the dry wall had to come off two feet around the perimeter of  the first floor and the electrical issues were postponed for a few weeks.

The girls are delighted to be here and have made friends instantly with two neighbouring families which we often get together with for play dates.

 

But enough about all of this. I have come to day to show you my first  before and after  project.

 

I found this.

IMG_4867

On the side of the road for free, for obvious reasons. Jason and everyone else who saw it thought it should have stayed on the side of the road for  garbage day, but not I.

 I saw  this as my golden opportunity to make a beautiful cabinet without  lot of  risk. I mean I could not possible make it look any worse.

 

And so I  painted it with paint I found at a garage sale for .50 cents and mod podged it  with Alexander Henry Fabric, replaced the hardware and voila!

This. IMG_5032

Not bad Ah?

I am really happy with it too.

 Now onto re-upholstering a chrome chair with two steps that swing in and out from under it. You know that one that your grandma might have had.

I can’t believe it!  Someone was going to throw it into the dump when Jason rescued it for me.  Stunning I say it is going to be stunning, ( but even if it is not it is going to be functional).

 

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

