Standard

This past October my mom and grandpa came to visit for a few weeks. It was a great privilege   to have my  85 year old grandpa as our guest. We did a lot of driving, showing him the country side of Southern Ontario, stopping  to have our simple picnics under autumns amber oak trees all the while being entertained by the girls antics.

Because grandpa is deaf  driving and site  seeing was a great way to connect.

However, I had a project that  I  needed some company to work on  and grandpa was just the person for the job. Grandpa  has done  quite a bit of upholstering.   So while some one went to work to pay for my life of leisure, we spent some time ripping apart this chair.

I bought it at a garage sale for $10 this past summer, and it was love at first sight.

I knew that with a new upholstering job it would be a stunning piece for any room in the house and for the kids  to read their books on.   It’s my  first piece, to put give me some experience for the wing back chair in my living room.

It turned out beautifully, don’t you agree? Thanks to grandpa, and my mom’s tutorship.

My grandpa would let me struggle for 30 minuets or so  on folding over a corner, over and over again then say, ” I think you need to staple this piece down first then that corner will fall into place like this, and of course he was right.  I’m pleased, so now I am eying  up the wing back.  Jason says leave it alone, but the gimp is coming off…. so we’ll see.

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

One response »

Leave a Reply

