Tuesday’s Tip

Standard

 

tulip Tuesday's tip

It’s a sweet one today, you will be whipping up the most delectable treats for your family and amaze yourself by your skill, speed and thriftiness. Maybe your husband will call you blessed…. but don’t count on it because his his mouth will be full and asking for more, CAKE. Yup, Cake and a lot of cake has been served up around here, as of late.

It’s my belief that recipes are  guidelines except with baking a cake. I learned back when I was 9 how to bake a cake and it was explained that alternating the flour and milk starting with the flour and ending with the flour was an important step not to be messed with. And I have not altered this method ever…. until recently.

Next time you make a cake,  cream your butter, eggs, sugar and vanilla as usual  then add all the milk, whip, add all the flour, whip  then at the very end add the baking powder and stir it in . The baking powder is last because it will start leavening the cake batter and you will get air tunnels in your cake if you add the baking powder with the flour.

For scientific research….insert laugh here, I was creating incentive to have the kids eat their dinners in a timely manner. I baked four cakes in 6 day’s.  Yup, it would have been a sweet time to drop in for a visit.

And today along with my tip I’m adding my one of my favorite recipes

Peanut Butter Cake 

1/2 cup shortening or margarine which is what I use

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup peanut butter

2/3 cup milk sour milk is great if you have it

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

whip

add flour

whip

then add

2 teaspoons of baking powder

Bake at 350 F for about 40 min it depends on the size of baking pan my favourite is the pampered Chef bar pan it makes a nice thin cake and is especially nice when you sprinkle a cup of chocolate chips over the batter before baking…. no need for frosting.

So my question is Do you bakes a cake with this method already  and I’m the last one to know or have you been alternating the flour with milk like the recipe says as I previously have been doing?

 

About karynforyou

Thank you for stopping by. I am a wife, mother to three daughters and homeschooler. It`s my intention to encourage, strengthen and laugh with friends. If you were stopping by my home you would find a sink full of dishes, books and paper strewn about but plenty of seats available for extra guests and the kettle on for tea... I may need to be reminded a few times before the tea is actually brewed. I`m blogging to help me keep focused. I will post about parenting, marriage, homeschooling, homemaking, and I`m sure there will be a few trips to the sewing room from time to time. If you have a post idea or question please feel free to contact me, I will get back to you.

One response »

Leave a Reply

